Can a player renege if he is holding any 2 or all 3 of the highest cards? In the rules, it says "any of the three highest trumps" not "any or all of" or "any one of the three" but what if they have more than one? Also can ANY player renege or just the bidder (ie. can the partner or opposing player renege also)? Thanks.
You can renege the ace of hearts, Jack and five of trumps off of any lower trump lead card. You can't renge the ace of hearts if the lead card is the jack or five of trumps - and you can't renege the Jack if the five is the lead card. Anyone can renege (not just the bidder). You can renege if you have one, two or three of the renegable cards. If someone lays a 6 of trumps and the next person lays the 5 of trumps and you have the jack of trumps - you can renege the jack because the 5 was not the lead card.
If you have the 5, J and A of Hearts and the person leads with the 2 of trump you can renege all of them. If the 5 is laid first, nothing can be reneged. In a 30/60 bid, the first round is a whisk (trump called for) but the first person to play. Some people play that you can renege the 5/J/A on the first round, some people don't - up to the house rules. Every house has different rules.